//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Use of English (Anti-Antimoon) Part 2

Idioms develop in every language. This one may seem particularly heinous to you, but luckily, it's generally restricted to the youth. No academy is needed; as young people enter the working world, they begin to discover that such phrases do not help them to sound their best, and may keep them from being taken seriously, and they stop using them. The use of such idioms is simply a way for teenagers to establish their own identity by speaking differently than their parents. Excise "was all like", and some other, equally nonsensical expression will appear. Inanne though it may be, try not to let it bother you so much!

Just have to add; in some ways it makes sense (check my post answer, Part 3) but, yes, that is the way the application will be (albeit subconsciously) to those who didn’t realise it was correct in the way I described here. Oh, you misspelt ‘inane’.

I don't care for that expression either, but an Academy isn't going to stop idioms from forming/spreading (as annoying as they may be). Language finds a way to evolve and "happen" on its own.

Ditto.

Oh, yes, "like...like...etc" invaded London and Southampton several years ago so I was rather prepared for the speech habits of Californians.

By the way, it seems to me that girls say "like" more than boys do.

I agree, girls gossip a lot like that (Not being sexist there FYI), but the expression didn’t arrive here until only a few years before now (about 2006 maybe).

"to be like" and "to say" are not the same thing, so what exactly do you have against new expressions coming into English?

Explanation:

This is an incident being reported:
He slapped me and I was all like "why did you do that?".

This is what actually happened:
He slapped me and I said "What the hell did you slap me for?!"...

The "all like" just shows the gist of what was said not the ACTUAL words. What is inane or nonsensical about it? And yes, I am in Britain and people are all the time like "I was all like, then he was all like..."! So I'm always like "great!", and now you're going to be like "shut up". It's more common to say "go" anyway instead of "say"...

She goes = she said.

Clearly, us British have a grasp of grammar far superior than those in the good ol’ USA. I can think of 51 abbreviations they came up with straight off. (Yanks, I mean for all your States and ‘USA’.)

You can't stop language change. Besides, spoken language is a much different creature than written language. As an English teacher, I wouldn't allow such language use in a written paper (unless it was used in dialogue) but nothing is going to stop usage of the above terms in casual, spoken American English.

Finally, a grand reference to dividing English (UK) from English (US). Yes, I expect he’s an English  Language teacher and no, writing like that is not sophisticated enough to get a good mark on an English paper, but otherwise it’s technically right!

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Let’s get the pronunciation thing out of the way, shall we? « This one I am - 10-04-2012

Leave a Reply

Archives

